US Flag iconThis site is an official U.S. Government Website.

Commission Recognized for Continued Strong Performance on Employee Satisfaction


The Federal Maritime Commission was recognized today for its positive upswing, ongoing commitment to workplace improvement, and employee satisfaction by the Partnership for Public Service during an event recognizing the “Best Places to Work” in government.

Acting Chairman Michael Khouri and Commissioner Rebecca Dye accepted the “Most Improved Small Agency Over the Past Five Years” award on behalf of the Commission this morning during a ceremony hosted by the Partnership at their Washington, D.C. offices.

This is the third time in five years that the Commission has been recognized by the Partnership for Public Service for positive accomplishments in employee engagement and fulfillment, as reflected in the results reported via the Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey. The Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey is an annual poll of all government employees administered by the Office of Personnel Management that measures worker perceptions of the agencies that employ them.

The 2017 survey results for the FMC were significant in several ways. The Commission had 47 items rated at 65% or higher in “positive” responses out of a total of 95 rated areas. Positive scores above 65% are considered areas of particular strength. Also of note, the Commission had no areas that scored 35% or more in negative responses, which is the threshold for measuring “challenges”. FMC employees also increased their participation and response rate from the previous year, adding significance to the positive results.

“Dedicated employees are at the heart of the Federal Maritime Commission’s work to ensure a competitive and reliable international ocean transportation supply system. The Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey is a valuable tool in helping us determine ways in which the Commission can retain its talented and dedicated workforce and I am pleased with the positive results reported this year,” said Acting Chairman Khouri.

(Left to right) Todd Cole, Mary T. Hoang, Acting Chairman Michael A. Khouri, Commissioner Rebecca F. Dye, Karen V. Gregory