US Flag iconThis site is an official U.S. Government Website.

Meeting of the Federal Maritime Commission – December 12, 2019


Statutory Authority: 46 U.S.C. Sec. 303

The meeting convened at 3:00 p.m. and recessed at 4:09 p.m.

All individuals present at the meeting were Commissioners or Commission employees: Chairman Michael A. Khouri, Commissioner Rebecca F. Dye, Commissioner Daniel J. Maffei, Commissioner Louis E. Sola, Commissioner Carl W. Bentzel, John Moran, Robert Blair, Katharine Primosch, Cory Cinque, Tyler J. Wood, Rachel Dickon, William Shakely, Jocelyn Jezierny, and John DeCrosta.

Summary of matters discussed:

The Commission was briefed by staff on Canada’s proposed regulations concerning ballast water. Topics included:

  • the origin of the Canadian regulation;
  • the inter-agency response of the U.S. Government to the regulation; and
  • authorities the FMC has to investigate and respond to inequitable shipping and market access policies of other nations.